irom's Blog

Cloud Fun

Posted on: October 26, 2011

I have fun using various Cloud application providers to refresh my programming skills. It took me 15 minutes to deploy PHP script from Larry Ullman book (Chapter 9) in the Orchestra.io cloud , see result. I started from  installing Git program version control on my PC (I’m not any kind programmer or developer) which allowed to store my sample script on Git Hub repository and deliver my files (no more need for ftp;). I linked Git Hub repository to my Orchestra free application. Then modified script (great Notepead++) connection parameters to connect to right MySQL database provided by Orchestra.

It worked like a charm. Orchestra provides also phpMyAdmin interface to manage MySQL database as well as many Add-ons like access to Amazon RDS and NoSQL database like Redis. I tried also Heroku ang PHP Fog cloud providers. Heroku (great number of add-ons) doesn’t provide MySQL access other than external databases (are noSQL more popular nowadays?) and PHP Fog was a little bit confusing for me.

Leave a comment